Nilson Brand Law Attorney group shot

Attorneys Who Give It To You Straight

Photo of the attorneys at Nilson Brand Law.

Dealing with assault charges

On Behalf of | Apr 30, 2024 | Criminal Defense

An assault charge is a serious matter, and depending on the severity of the damages the victim received, it can range from a misdemeanor to a felony. The consequences may include lengthy prison time, significant fines, and a massive blow to your reputation.

What constitutes assault in North Dakota?

Each state has laws that determine whether an action by an individual is assault. But what actions fall under assault in North Dakota?

  • Simple assault: This occurs when you harm another person willfully or negligently with a weapon.
  • Assault: If you substantially harm a person willfully with a weapon or object, it falls under regular assault, and you may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.
  • Aggravated assault: This occurs when you intentionally harm a person, use a destructive weapon, and cause substantial injury to someone while attempting to harm another.

If the alleged victim is in law enforcement or a correctional officer, a simple assault can escalate into a Class C felony. For aggravated assault, a Class C felony can turn into a Class B felony if the alleged victim is a child or a member of law enforcement.

Penalties for assault convictions

Assault convictions in North Dakota carry varying penalties, depending on the charge. For a simple assault conviction, you may face up to 30 days of jail time and a hefty fine. If you are facing aggravated assault charges, it is a Class C felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Taking legal action after an assault charge

Facing assault charges, no matter the degree of the assault, can significantly impact your life. Before anything else, you may want to try speaking with legal professionals who can explain the charges, help you exercise your rights, build a strong defense, and increase your chances of a favorable outcome.